Celty Kishitani: On Cosplay and Detective Conan

It is fun and weird to be writing about yourself on a fan page website. Hahaha! But I have to get through it!
Starting today, we will be featuring Detective Conan cosplayers from the Philippines. And I thought, since I am getting into this already, why not start with myself?

The first event where I cosplayed was ToyCon 2011. It was not a very good Misa Amane cosplayer, but everyone knows who I am. And since then, I just started cosplaying because bringing your favorite characters to life is fun and that feeling is very special.

In Detective Conan universe, I have cosplayed Conan Edogawa himself on Ozine Fest 2014 Day 2. It was fun and I tagged along a group of Kuroko no Basuke cosplayers.

Me making Aomine sleep (Aomine cosplay by Bon)

I also tried cosplaying Ai Haibara, but never debuted her in an event.

And just last year, on Detective Conan PH Gathering of the Detectives, I cosplayed as Sonoko Suzuki, along with other DCPH cosplayers.

It has been quite a journey for me as a cosplayer, but I am definitely not stopping. Cosplaying for me, is one of my artistic avenues, and I am a strong advocate of cosplay for all, not just for those who has money. You can be a cosplayer by working hard every step of the way. Don’t be sad if your cosplay is not there yet, there is always room for improvement. Remember, every cosplayer had to start somewhere, too.

I love Detective Conan so much, it is very dear to my heart. It is one of the few animes that I am a solid fan of, has a cool collection of merch and figures and still watch as of this day.

Anyway, if you are interested with what I do, I share all of my work in my blog, my Twitter, my tumblr and my YouTube Channel. You can also follow me on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

